FacebookYoutube
Beads and Yarn
Line

Classes & Events

      
      

Basic Jewelry 1 & 2 :: 8 week course

Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - Wednesday, October 23, 2019, 10:00AM - 1:00PM PT (Pacific Time)


(place mouse over image for larger view)

Cost: $625.00

Join us for this 8 week course in the basics of jewelry fabrication: from bezels to soldering and beyond! Practicing weekly is a great way to build skills that will last. Class meets once a week for 8 weeks. Open Studios are available for more practice time outside of class. 

This class focuses on the basics of creating jewelry: sawing, filing, sanding, texturing, soldering, stamping, polishing, and stone setting. Students will make sample projects including a pendant, ring, prong setting with a bail, and a chain bracelet.

Techniques covered include:

• Stone setting: bezels
• Sawing
• Filing
• Sanding
• Soldering
• Sweat soldering
• How to make a ring
• Stamping
• Hammering and texture
• Polishing with power tools
• Fabricating a prong setting
• Making a bail for pendant
• Making a custom chain and soldering links
• Twisting metal
• Forging
• Metals used for projects included sterling, copper and brass

Kit of materials, full color handout and use of tools included.

Class policies for refunds, transfers and cancelations.


 

Prerequisites:

Open to all levels - beginners welcome! 

Location: Silvera Jewelry School, Berkeley, CA

Instructors: Anat Silvera or Jenn Parnell or Joe Silvera

Upcoming Schedule

Date & Times
Wed. Mar 3, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Mar 10, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Mar 17, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Mar 24, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Mar 31, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Apr 7, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Apr 14, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time),
Wed. Apr 21, 10AM - 1PM PT (Pacific Time)

Sold Out

Thu. Mar 4, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Mar 11, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Mar 18, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Mar 25, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Apr 1, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Apr 8, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Apr 15, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time),
Thu. Apr 22, 6:30PM - 9:30PM PT (Pacific Time)

Sold Out

Basic Jewelry 1 & 2 :: 8 week course

Click on image for larger view