FacebookYoutube
Beads and Yarn
Line

Classes

      
      

Basic Jewelry 1 & 2 :: 8 week course

Monday, January 7, 2019 - Monday, March 4, 2019
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM


(place mouse over image for larger view)

Cost: $625.00

Join us for this 8 week course in the basics of jewelry fabrication: from bezels to soldering and beyond! Practicing weekly is a great way to build skills that will last. Class meets once a week for 8 weeks. Open Studios are available for more practice time outside of class. 

This class focuses on the basics of creating jewelry: sawing, filing, sanding, texturing, soldering, stamping, polishing, and stone setting. Students will make sample projects including a pendant, ring, prong setting with a bail, and a chain bracelet.

Techniques covered include:

• Stone setting: bezels
• Sawing
• Filing
• Sanding
• Soldering
• Sweat soldering
• How to make a ring
• Stamping
• Hammering and texture
• Polishing with power tools
• Fabricating a prong setting
• Making a bail for pendant
• Making a custom chain and soldering links
• Twisting metal
• Forging
• Metals used for projects included sterling, copper and brass

Kit of materials, full color handout and use of tools included.

Class policies for refunds, transfers and cancelations.


 

Prerequisites:

Open to all levels - beginners welcome! 

Location: Silvera Jewelry School, Berkeley, CA

Instructors: Anat Silvera or Joe Silvera

Upcoming Workshop Dates
Date(s) Times
Mon. May 27, Mon. Jun 3, Mon. Jun 10, Mon. Jun 17, Mon. Jun 246:30PM-9:30PM

Sold Out

Mon. Aug 12, Mon. Aug 19, Mon. Aug 26, Mon. Sep 9, Mon. Sep 16, Mon. Sep 23, Mon. Sep 30, Mon. Oct 76:30PM-9:30PM

Sold Out

Thu. Oct 24, Thu. Oct 31, Thu. Nov 7, Thu. Nov 14, Thu. Nov 21, Thu. Dec 5, Thu. Dec 12, Thu. Dec 1910AM-1PM

Register

Basic Jewelry 1 & 2 :: 8 week course

Click on image for larger view